AN IV 143. Four Kinds of Lights

Āloka Sutta


“There are four kinds of lights, monks.


What four?


(1) The light of the moon,

(2) The light of the sun,

(3) The light of fire,

(4) and the light of wisdom. [1]


These are the four kinds of light, monks.


The best out of these four kinds of light, monks,

is the light of wisdom.”



[1] Candāloko, sūriyāloko, aggāloko, paññāloko

This is a gift of Dhamma

All Sutta Translations by Ānanda are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.